The Show Must Go On : On Tour with the LSO in 1912 and 2012, Hardback Book

The Show Must Go On : On Tour with the LSO in 1912 and 2012 Hardback


A memoir of the London Symphony Orchestra on tour, focusing on their historical first visit to America in 1912 and their most recent US tour earlier this year.

Gareth Davies, Principal Flautist at the LSO, tells the remarkable story of a groundbreaking expedition through recently discovered diaries, archive material from London and New York and newspaper reports from the time.

Against this is set a behind-the-scenes account of the LSO's contemporary US touring schedule, which finds that a surprising number of the same challenges remain.

We join Gareth and his colleagues as they contend with airports, volcanoes, travel strikes, illness and even life and death situations.

As well as vivid descriptions of sitting centre stage surrounded by music and working with Haitink, Gergiev and Sir Colin Davies, we get to glimpse into the backstage goings on and see inside the mind of a professional musician as never before.

Written by someone at the heart of the action, we follow the travels of two musicians, a century apart in the same orchestra.

The show does go on.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 256 pages, Illustrations
  • Publisher: Elliott & Thompson Limited
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Western "classical" music
  • ISBN: 9781908739803



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops