Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


A Patriot After All : 1940-1941, Paperback / softback Book

A Patriot After All : 1940-1941 Paperback / softback


Volume 12 of The Complete Works of George OrwellFor the twenty-month period of this volume, there are reproduced 123 book, 38 theatre, and 43 film reviews.

Inside the Whale, Orwell's first collection of essays, and The Lion and the Unicorn: Socialism and the English Genius are reprinted here.

Later in that year he gave a series of broadcasts on literary criticism, the texts of which are reproduced.

Throughout this period Orwell kept a wartime diary; its entries are here printed chronologically with his reviews, essays, and letters and it is here that Orwell makes the first reference to his wish to live on a Hebridean island.

It was in 1941 that Orwell began his series of 'London Letters' for Partisan Review.

The volume also includes Orwell's lecture notes for instructing members of his Home Guard platoon.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 608 pages
  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Literary essays
  • ISBN: 9780436205408



Item not Available

Also by George Orwell   |  View all