Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

All Boats Are Sinking : Navigating Life, Love and Locks on a Narrowboat, Paperback / softback Book

All Boats Are Sinking : Navigating Life, Love and Locks on a Narrowboat Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

"A vibrant, often hilarious emotional and physical journey. And let's be honest, who hasn't wanted to drift away on a narrowboat?" - Ian Moore, author of Death and CroissantsAll Boats Are Sinking is a memoir of love, life and chaos on a narrowboat, perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Helen Fielding and Phoebe Waller-Bridge"All boats are sinking, Hannah, just at different rates."After a break-up, some hit the gym; some cut their hair; others have a one-night stand.

In the aftermath of her break-up, Hannah bought a narrowboat. Newly single and plunged into life on the water, Hannah had to learn quickly how to grapple with exploding toilets, disappearing hulls, and the curious glances and questions from pedestrians on the towpath.

But when career burn-out, a global pandemic and an ill-advised rebound relationship threatened to sink her, Hannah felt the need to escape.

In a bid to let go of the past and restore her sense of self-worth, she embarked on a narrowboat odyssey which took her from the bustling streets of London to the tranquil yet dramatic waterways of West Yorkshire. Suffering from an apparent magnetism to drama but buoyed by her brilliant friends, Hannah tells of the challenges of off-grid life as a single 30-something on the water.

All this as she tries to balance the tension between owning her singledom and giving in to a deep desire to find love. Peppered with lists, recipes, maps, footnotes and diagrams, and spanning hundreds of miles of the British waterways, it's an uplifting and often hilarious story of adventure and personal growth, and of a woman trying to keep her boat and life afloat. And to answer that perennial question: yes, it's cold on the boat in winter.

Information

Other Formats

Save 10%

£10.99

£9.85

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information