Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Peacock Summer : A gripping and heartwarming story of forbidden love, family and secrets, Hardback Book

The Peacock Summer : A gripping and heartwarming story of forbidden love, family and secrets Hardback



A compelling story of hidden secrets and forbidden love, from the bestselling author of The Secrets of the Tides 'Completely captivating' Kate Riordan'Atmospheric and moving' Katherine WebbHidden deep in the dusty wing of an old manor house stands a locked room, forgotten by all - except one.

Sixty years ago Lillian Oberon was mistress of Cloudesley, until one glittering summer, when a doomed love affair changed her life forever. Now frail and muddled, Lillian is the sole guardian of Cloudesley, and of its dark secrets.

Only when Maggie, her devoted granddaughter, returns to nurse her - and her own heartbreak - do the walls of the past begin to crumble, threatening to bring the tragic consequences of that summer to light...

Can Maggie unlock her family's tangled history, before all she holds dear is lost forever?Reviews for The Peacock Summer'A juicy mix of secrets and betrayals make The Peacock Summer by Hannah Richell a perfect holiday read.' Good Housekeeping'A heartwarming, compassionate story' PRIMA'A beautiful and compelling story of forbidden love, grief and guilt...' Liz Fenwick'A wonderfully atmospheric novel that skilfully weaves together past and present' REDONLINE'Wonderfully written, a visual treat, compelling and full of excellent characters - highly recommended' Cesca Major, author of The Silent Hours'Secrets, passion, sadness and sacrifice, more secrets...

Wonderful book!' Susan Elliot Wright, author of The Things We Never Said




Item not Available
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also by Hannah Richell  |  View all