Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

One Last Time, Paperback / softback Book

One Last Time Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Anne's diagnosis of terminal cancer shines a spotlight onto fractured relationships with her daughter and granddaughter, with surprising, heart-warming results.

A moving, elegant and warmly funny novel by the Norwegian Anne Tyler. 'Helga Flatland writes with such astuteness ... Her portrayal of a fractured family trying to cope through emotional personal circumstances was perfect.

I devoured this in two sittings and was overwhelmed with feelings for the characters' Nina Pottell, Prima 'Sometimes you simply don't have words to express the beauty and experience of a book - this is one of them' Louise Beech _______________ Anne's life is rushing to an unexpected and untimely end.

But her diagnosis of terminal cancer isn't just a shock for her - and for her daughter Sigrid and granddaughter Mia - it shines a spotlight onto their fractured and uncomfortable relationships. On a spur-of-the moment trip to France the three generations of women reveal harboured secrets, long-held frustrations and suppressed desires, and learn humbling and heart-warming lessons about how life should be lived when death is so close. With all of Helga Flatland's trademark humour, razor-sharp wit and deep empathy, One Last Time examines the great dramas that can be found in ordinary lives, asks the questions that matter to us all - and ultimately celebrates the resilience of the human spirit, in an exquisite, enchantingly beautiful novel that urges us to treasure and rethink ... everything. For fans of Elena Ferrante, Maggie O'Farrell, Mike Gayle, Joanna Cannon, Sally Rooney and Carol Shields. _______________ 'The most beautiful, elegant writing I've read in a long time.

If you love Anne Tyler, you will ADORE this' Joanna Cannon 'Flatland is hailed as "the Norwegian Anne Tyler", but, for me, she writes like Flatland, which is more than good enough' Saga 'A poignant and beautifully written story ... intimate, evocative and moving' Kristin Gleeson 'Helga Flatland possesses a pen made from fluent wisdom, subtle humour and elegance' Carol Lovekin 'Absolutely loved its quiet, insightful generosity' Claire King 'So perceptive and clever' Ronan Hession 'A thoughtful and reflective novel about parents, siblings and the complex - and often challenging - ties that bind them' Hannah Beckerman, Observer 'This is a super exploration of families that I'd urge you to read for the subtle prose, with well defined characters and a strong storyline' Sheila O'Reilly 'Love the sophistication, directness and tenderness of this book' Claire Dyer 'The most clear-eyed, honest, yet sympathetic examination of relationships that I have ever read' Sara Taylor 'The author has been dubbed the Norwegian Anne Tyler and for good reason ...

If you love books about dysfunctional families, you'll love this' Good Housekeeping 'In quiet prose, Helga Flatland writes with elegance and subtle humour to produce a shrewd and insightful examination of the psychology of family and of loss' Daily Express

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.79

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Helga Flatland