No Name Lane, Paperback Book
3 out of 5 (1 rating)

Description

An unstoppable serial killer. A fifth girl missing. A long-buried secret. A gripping crime thriller perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Mel Sherratt and Mark Billingham.

There's a serial killer on the loose in north-east England.

Four bodies have already been discovered. A fifth girl, Michelle Summers, has just disappeared.When a body is discovered, everyone fears the worst.

But this isn't Michelle - this corpse has been dead for over fifty years.Out-of-favour DC Ian Bradshaw is pulled off the main case to investigate the skeleton.

But it soon becomes clear that dark secrets lay buried along with the body - and now the police have more than one killer to worry about...The beginning of the highly acclaimed series starring Ian Bradshaw and journalists Helen Norton and Tom Carney, this is a gripping crime thriller you won't be able to put down.

SEE WHAT BESTSELLING AUTHORS ARE ALREADY SAYING ABOUT BRITAIN'S BEST NEW CRIME AUTHOR 'Howard Linskey is one of the best new writers around and this is the start of a must-read series' Mark Billingham'A new master of the gripping, gritty thriller.

Howard Linskey takes you right to the heart of it.' Paul Finch 'This is lacerating fare that makes most current crime fiction look like thin gruel' Financial Times 'Linskey has elevated this story to a level of complexity and humanity seldom approached by British writers previously ...

A new name on our criminal horizon' Maxim Jakubowski 'Gripping and convincing' Kimberley Chambers 'Brilliant ...

This is first class stuff, an unstoppable tale, a real page-turner not to be missed' Sarah Broadhurst 'Serial killer thrillers don't come much better than this.

Old secrets and terrible new crimes woven into an immensely satisfying, utterly compelling narrative which keeps you constantly guessing.

Fans of Linskey's critically acclaimed David Blake series will already know what an outstanding author he is, everyone else ... prepare to add another name to your must-read list' Eva Dolan 'Linskey weaves together a compelling and twisty tale that gripped me from page one.

If you like Val McDermid's thrillers, you'll love this' Mark Edwards

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780718180324

Other Formats

£6.99

£6.55

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by
3

This is quite a good read: a workman-like procedural with interesting plot strands, at least at first, and likeable characters.The action concerns events in a village in County Durham in 1993 and flashing back to 1936.We are introduced to the broken DC Bradshaw, traumatised by his previous case and in no fit state to continue to work, let alone rescue his fast-fading reputation in the Durham force.Other leads are Tom Carney, the whizzkid journalist back in his childhood home on gardening leave from a national tabloid after his big scoop becomes toxic; also cub reporter Helen Norton, just starting out on the local weekly.Various crimes require investigation: a serial killer has been removing pre-pubescent girls from the streets; a fifteen-year-old girl has recently disappeared; a body is unearthed on land adjacent to the local primary school.There is tension and I was inspired to read on; the denouement was not without the element of surprise. But the disparate characters and plot strands I've described remain just that, disparate. The journalists do work together and interact with the policeman, but the investigations stay stubbornly separate, resisting any attempts to unite them. This was disappointing.The body in the field is identified pretty uncontroversially early on, and this becomes more a why- than a whodunnit (and of diminishing interest); attempts to make us think the other two cases are linked are never convincing, and both are solved by complete fluke, again a disappointment.I would read another Howard Linskey, in the hope of discovering that he has been able to make more of his narrative techniques: will he be able to give us a novel next time, rather than just three short stories shuffled together?

Also by Howard Linskey   |  View all