New Collected Poems: Iain Crichton-Smith, Paperback / softback Book

New Collected Poems: Iain Crichton-Smith Paperback / softback

Edited by Matt McGuire


Iain Crichton Smith's "Collected Poems" was awarded the Saltire Prize when it was published in 1992.

This completely revised and enlarged edition includes seventy additional poems, mostly from the four books the poet published in the 1990s: "Ends and Beginnings" (1994), "The Human Face" (1996), "The Leaf" and "The Marble" (1998) and "A Country for Old Men" and "My Canadian Uncle" (2000), together with extracts from his 1971 translation of Sorley Maclean's epic "Dain do Eimhir agus Dain Eile" ("Poems to Eimhir", 1943), a founding moment of modern Gaelic poetry.

The new introduction by Matthew McGuire of the Department of Scottish Literature, University of Glasgow, illuminates the range of Crichton Smith's achievement as a poet of Scotland and Europe, rooted in local tradition and, in Edwin Morgan's words, 'open to the whole intellectual world'.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 546 pages
  • Publisher: Carcanet Press Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Poetry by individual poets
  • ISBN: 9781857549607



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Iain Crichton-Smith   |  View all