Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Listening to Charles Ives : Variations on His America, Hardback Book

Listening to Charles Ives : Variations on His America Hardback



Charles Ives is widely regarded as the first, great American composer of classical music.

But listening to his music is an adventure-hearing how a piece begins may not prepare you for what comes next, or how it ends.

Knowing one Ives piece may not prepare you for another. Award-winning music historian J. Peter Burkholder provides an introduction to the composer's diverse musical output and unusual career to readers of any background, discussing about thirty of the best and most characteristic pieces framed with biographical sketches.

Burkholder shows how Ives mastered each tradition he encountered: from American popular music to classical European genres, from Protestant church music to his own unique experimental idiom, and interweaving elements from all these traditions in the astonishing works of his maturity.

Burkholder provides compelling and accessible walkthroughs of select pieces, bringing the music alive and guiding listeners to a newfound appreciation of the composer.

Ultimately, it reveals that there is an Ives piece for everyone


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by J. Peter Burkholder