Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Garden of Empire : A sweeping fantasy epic full of magic, secrets and war, Paperback / softback Book

The Garden of Empire : A sweeping fantasy epic full of magic, secrets and war Paperback / softback

Part of the Pact and Pattern series

Paperback / softback

Description

WAR MAKES MONSTERS OF EVERYONE. Foolish Cur, once named Wen Alder, finds that his allies in the rebellion might cross any line if it means freedom from the Empire.

But he can't overcome a foe as strong as Emperor Tenet alone. REBELLION HAS UNINTENDED CONSEQUENCES. Koro Ha, Foolish Cur's former tutor, discovers the Empire is not so forgiving of those who raise a traitor. And their suspicion may cost him and his people more than he can imagine. THE GODS ARE LURKING IN THE SHADOWS. As war against the Empire rages, Foolish Cur knows there is a greater threat.

The emperor plans his own coup against the gods, and they will wreak destruction if he tries.

To stop him, Foolish Cur might have to risk everything - and resort to ancient magics that could tear the world apart. This is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Shelley Parker-Chan. Readers can't get enough of The Garden of Empire:'This book is a complete package of beautiful prose, well written characters, well explained magic with good battle scenes and immersive world-building' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'A gripping, riveting, highly entertaining, well plotted, and well told story.

A page turner that kept me hooked. A story which is epic and intimate and the same time.

Loved it, loved it, loved it' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'The plot was amazing.

It kept me engaging and there was not even a small moment throughout the book when I didn't enjoy it.

It had a huge twist in the story that I didn't see coming. The themes of rebellion, war and its consequences, leadership, betrayals, family, friendship, duties, power are employed very well' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'We are treated to rich characterization, vivid description, a believable lush world, amazing magic, and wrenching moral conflicts' Goodreads review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'A thrilling sequel to The Hand of the Sun King.

The magic system is still one of the most unique I've read' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'Magic in this series feels like a magic of an old style.

While I love some of the more mechanistic descriptions of magic in some modern books, I love the way magic is more of an art than a science' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'This focus on wider, ancient powers is elegant and vividly described, the increasing complexity was cleverly integrated and really opens the plot up to something that I think, come the third book, could be utterly shattering' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information