Before the Dawn : Inspector Rykel Book 3, Paperback Book


A gripping police procedural, After the Silence sees Inspector Jaap Rykel of Amsterdam's Murder Squad drawn into a case which may destroy him . . . On a small Dutch island a body is found. The victim's head is wrapped in cling film. Her hands are tied behind her back. Veteran detective Inspector Jaap Rykel of Amsterdam's Murder Squad is swiftly summoned and he soon identifies a suspect, who hands himself over.

Yet the man has no history of violence, no motive, and no connection to the victim. On the other side of Holland, a similar murder - and confession - is reported and Rykel wonders if these are random senseless acts, or something more mysterious. Seeking patterns no one wants to see, Rykel is drawn deeper into a sinister, sprawling case which will destroy all who touch it . . . Praise for Jake Woodhouse:'A strong sense of place matched by storytelling that keeps the plot accelerating' Daily Mail'Utterly enthralling ...

Looks set to be one of the key sequences in modern crime fiction' Barry Forshaw, Crimetime'Taut, expertly woven and beautifully written' Craig Robertson


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781405922654

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Jake Woodhouse   |  View all

Also in the Amsterdam Quartet with Inspector Jaap Rykel series   |  View all