Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Lady Susan, The Watsons, and Sanditon : Unfinished Fictions and Other Writings, Paperback / softback Book

Lady Susan, The Watsons, and Sanditon : Unfinished Fictions and Other Writings Paperback / softback

Edited by Kathryn (St Anne's College, Oxford) Sutherland

Part of the Oxford World's Classics series

Paperback / softback


'I am tired of submitting my will to the caprices of others-of resigning my own judgement in deference to those to whom I owe no duty, and for whom I feel no respect.'The unfinished fictions collected here are the novels and other writing that Jane Austen did not publish.

The protagonist of the earliest story is Lady Susan, a sexual predator and a brilliant and manipulative sociopath.

The Watsons, a tale of riches to rags, is set in a village deep in mud and misery where the Watson sisters waste away, day after dull day, waiting for the suitors who never appear.

Sanditon, the novel interrupted by the author's death, is a topical satire onthe niche marketing campaign waged by investors in the latest seaside resort, the fictional Sanditon, situated on England's over-supplied south coast. If The Watsons shares the disturbed life of a Chekhov short story, Sanditon's cast of eccentrics anticipates the zany world of Dickens.

Experimental and sharp-elbowed,all three probe new areas of invention and push out beyond what we expect to find in a novel by Jane Austen. This edition collects together all Austen's unpublished adult fiction, poetry, and related writings, written in her late teens, in her late twenties, and in the year she died, aged forty-one.

They contribute more than a dash of discomfort to our modern image of the romantic novelist and reveal Jane Austen's development as a writer.


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also in the Oxford World's Classics series  |  View all