logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Sloterdijk, Hardback Book

Sloterdijk Hardback

Part of the Key Contemporary Thinkers series

Description

This is the first English-language introduction to Peter Sloterdijk, the distinguished German philosopher and controversial public intellectual.

Sloterdijk, in the tradition of Nietzsche and Heine, is an iconoclast who uses humour and biting critique to challenge many of modernity's sacred thinkers, from Kant to Heidegger, in the process radically reinterpreting the canon of Western philosophy.

In this unique textbook, leading Sloterdijk expert Jean-Pierre Couture explains in accessible language Sloterdijk's exceptional contribution, breaking his thought down into five key approaches: psychopolitics, anthropotechnics, spherology, controversy, and therapeutics.

Sloterdijk's frequent public controversies, with supporters of Habermas and the Frankfurt school in particular, are assessed and their significance for current philosophical debates explained.

This fascinating book will be an essential companion for those interested in the hybrid aesthetics of thought situated at the crossroads of art and philosophy.

Its up-to-date analyses of Sloterdijk's recently translated corpus will make it essential reading for all students and scholars of modern European thought.

Information

Other Formats

Also by Jean-Pierre Couture

£15.99

£14.49

Also in the Key Contemporary Thinkers series   |  View all

£16.99

£15.25

£17.75

£15.79

£18.75

£17.69