Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Ariadne : Discover the smash-hit mythical bestseller, Paperback / softback Book

Ariadne : Discover the smash-hit mythical bestseller Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

**The mesmerising retelling from the woman at the heart of one of Ancient Greece's most famous myths.**'I absolutely adored this book and am encouraging everyone I know to buy a copy.' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ READER REVIEW'The last few pages will easily become tear soaked.

I loved every minute of this book' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ READER REVIEW'A lyrical, insightful re-telling' - Daily Mail'If you like Madeline Miller's Circe and Song of Achilles, you will eat up Ariadne [. . .] Saint makes it a page-turner' - Glamour'Exquisitely written and exceptionally moving, this is a mythical retelling to savour.' - Elodie Harper, author of THE WOLF DEN'ARIADNE gives voice to the misused Princess of Crete who betrayed her father to save Theseus from the Minotaur.

Relevant and revelatory.' - StylistAriadne, Princess of Crete and daughter of the fearsome King Minos, grows up hearing stories of gods and heroes.

But beneath the golden palace something else stirs, the hoofbeats and bellows echoing from the Labyrinth below.

Every year its captive, the Minotaur - Ariadne's brother - demands blood. When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives as a sacrifice to the beast, Ariadne sees in him her chance to escape.

But helping Theseus kill the monster means betraying her family and country, and Ariadne knows only too well that drawing the attention of the mercurial gods may cost her everything. In a world where women are nothing more than the pawns of powerful men, will Ariadne's decision to risk everything for love ensure her happy ending? Or will she find herself sacrificed for her lover's ambition?ARIADNE gives a voice to the forgotten women of one of the most famous Greek myths.

Beautifully written and completely immersive, this exceptional debut novel is perfect for fans of CIRCE, A SONG OF ACHILLES, and THE SILENCE OF THE GIRLS. 'With her wonderfully executed debut that reimagines the classic tale of Theseus, Adriane and the Minotaur, Jennifer Saint joins the likes of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker in forging mesmerising retellings of ancient Greek myths from a female perspective.' - Waterstones.com'Saint's immersive novel thrusts the reader straight into the heart of Greek mythology with this wonderful reimagining of the story of Ariadne.' - iPaper'What happens after the monster is defeated and the princess leaves with the hero?

Jennifer Saint's ARIADNE is a shimmering tapestry of two sisters bound by deceit and the shadows of family history. . .With a fresh voice and keen insight, Saint adds flesh and bone to an ancient myth, drawing the reader into an uneasy world of ever-afters.' - Yangsze Choo, New York Times bestselling author of THE NIGHT TIGERWHAT THE READERS ARE SAYING... 'Stunning writing, fabulous storytelling and surprisingly real characters who you could empathise with' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'This is an essential book in the new and rising volume of retelling from the women's point of view - so revealing and questioning.

The ending 5 pages of this book killed me.' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'So real, so matter of fact, like a good chat on a girls' night out.' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information