Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Oxford Reading Tree Story Sparks: Oxford Level 11: Stanley Manners, Paperback / softback Book

Oxford Reading Tree Story Sparks: Oxford Level 11: Stanley Manners Paperback / softback

Illustrated by Marcus Cutler

Part of the Oxford Reading Tree Story Sparks series

Paperback / softback


Stanley Manners tells lies - lots of them! When he lies to his friends about his birthday party, they expect to see an enormous cake, a tennis-playing robot, amazing conjurors and a dragon!

When Stanley wishes really hard for his lies to come true, disaster unfolds.

Can Stanley get his birthday party back under control, or will his lies just get bigger and bigger?

This story shows the importance of telling the truth ... and the dangers of having a dragon as a pet!Oxford Reading Tree Story Sparks is an emotionally-engaging fiction series that will fire children's imaginations.

These 36 original stories will get children thinking, and develop and deepen their comprehension skills.

The variety of authors and illustration styles broadens children's reading experience, with something to appeal to every child. All the books in the series are carefully levelled, so it's easy to match every child to the right book for them.

They also contain inside cover notes, to enable parents and teachers to support children in their reading.

Help with children's reading development is also available at




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops