logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

The Bobby Girls : Book One in a gritty, uplifting WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers, Paperback / softback Book

The Bobby Girls : Book One in a gritty, uplifting WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers Paperback / softback

Part of the The Bobby Girls series

Description

1914. While their men fight in France, at home in Britain women are finally seizing the opportunity to make a difference . . . Maggie and her new friends Annie, Irene and Sarah come from very different backgrounds, but they've got one thing in common: they've all signed up for the Women Police Volunteers.

They can't wait to show the men just what they're made of. But soon, Maggie realises she's in over her head. Hiding her involvement with the WPV from her tyrannous father is becoming ever more difficult, and when she bumps into an old acquaintance with a big chip on his shoulder, the dangers of her new life become all too clear . . . As Maggie and the girls work together to find their feet on the beat, will their friendship get her through the darkest of times?

A gritty, uplifting new saga series about the first ever female police officers, set at the outbreak of the First World War - perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife. Praise for THE BOBBY GIRLS:Filled with richly drawn characters that leap from the page, and a plot that's so well researched and well written you will believe you are in the thick of wartime policing, The Bobby Girls is a must-read for all saga fans.' - Fiona Ford, bestselling author of Christmas at Liberty's 'I really enjoyed reading about Britain's first female police officers.

A lot of research has gone into this book and it's all the richer and more readable for it.

An exciting new voice in women's fiction.' - Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Singer Girls'A well-researched and interesting story giving a great insight into early women's policing.' - Anna Jacobs, bestselling author of the Ellindale series'Written with warmth and compassion, the novel gives fascinating insights into the lives of three courageous young women.' - Margaret Kaine, RNA award-winning author of Ring of Clay'Johanna Bell has hit the jackpot with this striking WW1 crime story.

The author places the focus firmly on the girls' growth into independent members of society in a rapidly changing world.

It's a heartening central message conveyed with verve and empathy and remains relevant to today's readers, both young and old.' - Jenny Holmes, author of The Spitfire Girls'A lovely story!

The author has researched the era and the theme very well.

The characters stood out on the page and through their eyes you are transported back to a different age.' - AnneMarie Brear, author of Beneath a Stormy Sky

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: First World War fiction
  • ISBN: 9781529330854
Save 17%

£6.99

£5.79

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by JOHANNA BELL