Bradshaw's Guide East Coast Main Line York to Edinburgh : Volume 13, Paperback Book

Bradshaw's Guide East Coast Main Line York to Edinburgh : Volume 13 Paperback

Part of the Bradshaw's Guide series


The East Coast Main Line - going from London to Edinburgh - remains one of the most important routes in this country.

It was built by a number of separate companies and by 1863, when Bradshaw published his guide, the section from York to Berwick was operated by the North Eastern Railway, and onwards into Scotland by the North British Railway.

This guide covers that final section of the ECML, including the important locations and branches encountered along the way.

In the 1930s the LNER captured briefly the world record for a steam locomotive on this line, with Gresley's streamlined A4 Pacific Mallard, as represented by David Mach's brick sculpture at Darlington. `Seldom has the gigantic intellect of man been employed upon a work of greater utility.' Punch, in praise of Bradshaw's publications. Bradshaw's guide was published in 1863, not that long after most of Britain's railway network had been completed.

It gives the reader a unique insight into the world of the Victorian railways and goes beyond the engineering aspects to record the sights to be seen in the towns and cities encountered along the way.

Campbell McCutcheon and John Christopher present Bradshaw's original text accompanied by contemporary images to bring the ECML journey to life for the modern reader.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 96 pages, 120 Illustrations, unspecified
  • Publisher: Amberley Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Trains & railways: general interest
  • ISBN: 9781445643618



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops