The Emerald Atlas:The Books of Beginning 1, Paperback Book

The Emerald Atlas:The Books of Beginning 1 Paperback

Part of the The Books of Beginning series

4 out of 5 (1 rating)


The first thrilling book in the most exciting children's fantasy series since Harry Potter. They were taken from their beds one frozen night, when the world was covered in snow.

The silhouette of a tall, thin man has haunted Kate ever since.

Ten years on, Kate, Michael and Emma have grown up in a string of miserable orphanages, and all memories of their parents have faded to a blur.

Arriving at Cambridge Falls, the children quickly realise there is something different about this place - and Kate feels sure she has seen the dark, crooked house before. As they explore, they discover an old, empty leather book.

The moment they touch it, an ancient magical prophecy is set irrevocably in motion, and the children are thrown into a dangerous alternate reality of dark enchantments and terrifying monsters. Only they can prevent the terrible event that will ruin Cambridge Falls - and stop the world from falling into complete devastation.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Random House Children's Publishers UK
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Fantasy
  • ISBN: 9780552564021

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Kate, Michael and Emma have a special destiny and when their young lives become imperiled they are sent away to an orphanage unknowing what the future holds for them. 10 years later after having being sent from orphanage to orphanage, they arrive in Cambridge Falls and their adventures begin. Kate has a unique connection to the "Emerald Atlas" which allows her to time travel. The children use this special ability to go back in time to save a town and its people.Magic, time traveling, dwarfs, hidden tunnels and more made this book a thoroughly entertaining experience and had me running to the bookstore for the next in the series.