Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Rotters' Club : 'One of those sweeping, ambitious yet hugely readable, moving, richly comic novels' Daily Telegraph, Paperback / softback Book

The Rotters' Club : 'One of those sweeping, ambitious yet hugely readable, moving, richly comic novels' Daily Telegraph Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

The first in The Rotters' Club series, bestselling author Jonathan Coe's iconic tale of Benjamin Trotter is a hilarious, heartfelt celebration of the joys and agonies of growing up WINNER OF THE EVERYMAN WODEHOUSE PRIZE __________ Birmingham, England, c. 1973: industrial strikes, bad pop music, first love, corrosive class warfare, detention, IRA bombings. Four friends: a class clown who stoops very low for a laugh; a confused artist enthralled by rock; an earnest radical with socialist leanings; and a quiet dreamer obsessed with poetry, God, and the prettiest girl in school. Unforgettably funny and painfully honest, The Rotters' Club is perfect for readers of Nick Hornby and William Boyd - or anyone who ever experience adolescence the hard way!

THE STORY CONTINUES IN THE CLOSED CIRCLE AND MIDDLE ENGLAND. __________ 'One of those sweeping, ambitious yet hugely readable, moving and richly comic novels . . . a masterpiece' Daily Telegraph 'Very funny . . . Coe had achieved that rare feat: a novel stuffed with characters you really care for' The Times 'A book to cherish, a book to reread, a book to buy for all your friends' Independent on SundayWritten with his signature wit, Jonathan Coe's unmissable new novel, Bournville, is available to pre-order now!

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£8.45

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Jonathan Coe  |  View all