The Book of Sand and Shakespeare's Memory, Paperback / softback Book

The Book of Sand and Shakespeare's Memory Paperback / softback

Part of the Penguin Modern Classics series


One of the most remarkable artists of our age.' MARIO VARGAS LLOSA THE BOOK OF SAND was the last of Borges' major collections to be published.

The stories are, in his words, 'variations on favourite themes... combining a plain and at times almost colloquial style with a fantastic plot'.

It includes such marvellous tales as 'The Congress', 'Undr' and 'The Mirror and the Mask'.

Also included are the handful of stories written right at the end of Borges' life - 'August 25, 1983', 'Blue Tigers', 'The Rose of Paracelsus' and 'Shakespeare's Memory.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Short stories
  • ISBN: 9780141183824



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Jorge Borges   |  View all







Also in the Penguin Modern Classics series   |  View all