Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Alpha Girls : The Women Upstarts Who Took on Silicon Valley's Male Culture and Made the Deals of a Lifetime, Paperback / softback Book

Alpha Girls : The Women Upstarts Who Took on Silicon Valley's Male Culture and Made the Deals of a Lifetime Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

A Financial Times Summer Book of 2019'The addictive stories of four incredible women who did things their own way and rewrote the code of a whole industry' Emerald StreetDescribed as 'the book that the world needs right now' (Adam Fisher, author of Valley of Genius), Alpha Girls is perfect for fans of Hidden Figures, Lean In and The Social Network. Silicon Valley has long been at the forefront of innovation, but it is renowned for its archaic sexist culture.

Alpha Girls is the unforgettable story how a group of talented women achieved success in a tech world run by 'bro-grammers' through sheer grit and determination.

Despite the instrumental role they played in building some of the foremost companies of our time, these women have been written out of history - until now.

In Alpha Girls, award-winning writer Julian Guthrie reveals their untold stories. *Magdalena Yesil who arrived in America from Turkey with $43 to her name and would go on to help Marc Benioff build Salesforce. *Mary Jane Elmore - one of the first women in the United States to make partner at a venture capital firm. *Theresia Gouw, who helped land and build companies including Facebook, Trulia, Imperva and ForeScout. *Sonja Hoel, the first woman investing partner at Menlo Ventures who invested in McAfee, Hotmail, Acme Packet and F5 Networks as well as founding an all-women's investment group and a national nonprofit for girls. These women, juggling work and family, shaped the tech landscape we know today while overcoming unequal pay, actual punches, betrayals and the sexist attitudes prevalent in Silicon Valley.

Despite the setbacks, they would rise again to rewrite the rules for an industry they love.

Information

Other Formats

£14.99

£12.59

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Julian Guthrie  |  View all