The Boy Who Lived with the Dead, Hardback Book

The Boy Who Lived with the Dead Hardback

Part of the Albert Lincoln series


The second historical thriller in the Albert Lincoln series by acclaimed crime writer Kate Ellis. A child haunted by the past . . . A village troubled by secrets . . . It is 1920 and Scotland Yard detective DI Albert Lincoln is still reeling from the disturbing events of the previous year.

Trapped in a loveless marriage and tired of his life in London, he's pleased when he's called to a new case in the North West of England. Before the War, he led the unsuccessful investigation into the murder of little Jimmy Rudyard in the village of Mabley Ridge.

Now a woman has been murdered there and another child is missing, the sole witness being a traumatised boy who lives in a cemetery lodge.

Albert's first investigation was a failure but this time he is determined to find the truth . . . and the missing child. As Albert delves into the lives of the village residents he uncovers shocking secrets and obsessions.

With the help of a village schoolmistress with her own secret past, Albert closes in on Jimmy's killer.

Then, as more bodies are discovered, he realises that his young witness from the cemetery lodge is in grave danger, from somebody he calls 'the Shadow Man'.

As Albert discovers more about the victims he finds information that might bring him a step closer to solving a mystery of his own: the whereabouts of his lost son. Praise for the Albert Lincoln novels:'A powerful story of loss, malice and deception' Ann Cleeves'Fascinating, with a characteristically clever twist' Martin Edwards'This could be an instant classic' L.

C. Tyler'Extraordinarily powerful' Peter Lovesey'A splendidly macabre thriller' Andrew Taylor


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780349418339

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Kate Ellis   |  View all

Also in the Albert Lincoln series