Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Gifts : The captivating historical fiction debut for fans of THE BINDING, Hardback Book

The Gifts : The captivating historical fiction debut for fans of THE BINDING Hardback

Hardback

Description

'Fierce and touching' Jennifer Saint, bestselling author of Ariadne'Haunting, thrilling, wonderful.

I loved it' Stacey Halls'Your next obsession. . . Unique and captivating' Cosmopolitan Discover the extraordinary, luminous novel that everyone is talking about, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Doll FactoryIn an age defined by men, it will take something extraordinary to show four women who they truly are . . . October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders. Meanwhile, when rumours of a 'fallen angel' cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grips of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . . THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH.

A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition. 'A boldly feminist novel that lingers long after the last page' Susan Stokes Chapman, Sunday Times bestselling author of Pandora'Imaginative, extraordinary . . . Brimming with historical detail and beautifully written, the soulful prose soars.

It's an insightful, mysterious read celebrating female friendship and solidarity' Daily Express'A stirring tale of female empowerment, full of vivid imagery and evocative settings' ObserverA glorious, evocative read, ripe for a movie adaptation.

Victorian girl power? You bet' Apple Books'In this glorious novel both women and words take flight.

Don't miss it' Annie Garthwaite, author of Cecily'I devoured The Gifts.

A real gem' Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City'A beautiful, riveting novel suffused with luminous magic' Jenny Saint, Sunday Times bestselling author of Ariadne'I absolutely loved The Gifts.

A fiercely feminist tale . . . Punchy, bold and glittering with brilliance' Lizzie Pook, author of Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter'Extraordinary.

For any who loved The Essex Serpent, this is one that will sing to your soul' Jackie Morris, The Lost Words

Information

Other Formats

£14.99

£11.75

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Liz Hyder  |  View all

£8.99

£8.25

£14.99

£11.75

£7.99

£6.85

£12.99

£11.09