Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Eating Fire : Selected Poetry 1965-1995, Paperback / softback Book

Eating Fire : Selected Poetry 1965-1995 Paperback / softback


I would like to be the air that inhabits you for a moment only.

I would like to be that unnoticed and that necessary. From the author of The Handmaid's Tale and Alias Grace Eating Fire brings together three of Margaret's Atwood's key poetry collections: Poems 1965-1975, Poems 1976-1986 and Morning in the Burned House. The landscape of Atwood's poetry is one of bus trips and postcards, wilderness, glass, and fires both savage and tender.

Atwood's signature themes resound throughout all of them: the politics of sex, the darkness at the heart of every fairytale, and the pain - and triumph - of existing as a woman. * * * 'Atwood is the quiet Mata Hari, the mysterious, violent figure . . . who pits herself against the ordered too-clean world like an arsonist' - Michael Ondaatje'Detached, ironic, loving by turns . . . poems that sing off the page and sting' - Michele Roberts


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Poetry by individual poets
  • ISBN: 9781844086931

Also by Margaret Atwood   |  View all