Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Vespertine : The enthralling new fantasy from the New York Times bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns and An Enchantment of Ravens, Hardback Book

Vespertine : The enthralling new fantasy from the New York Times bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns and An Enchantment of Ravens Hardback

Hardback

Description

From the New York Times bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns and An Enchantment of Ravens comes a thrilling new YA fantasy about a teen girl with mythic abilities who must defend her world against restless spirits of the dead.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Alexandra Bracken and Holly Black. The dead of Loraille do not rest. Artemisia is training to be a Gray Sister, a nun who cleanses the bodies of the deceased so that their souls can pass on.

She'd rather deal with the dead than the living, who point and whisper about the odd girl who was once possessed by a violent spirit. When her convent is attacked by possessed soldiers, Artemisia fights back by awakening an ancient spirit bound to a high saint's relic.

It is a revenant, a malevolent being now whispering in her head.

Wielding its extraordinary power almost consumes her in body and soul.

But death has come to Loraille, and only a vespertine, a priestess trained to wield a high relic, has a chance of stopping it. As Artemisia investigates a mystery of saints, secrets and dark magic, an ancient evil is stirring.

Can an untrained girl, tormented by the burden of containing the revenant's devouring power, have any hope of defeating it?

Information

Other Formats

Save 29%

£14.99

£10.59

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Margaret Rogerson   |  View all