Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Old Bones Lie : An unputdownable Scottish detective thriller, Paperback / softback Book

Old Bones Lie : An unputdownable Scottish detective thriller Paperback / softback

Part of the Detective Clare Mackay series

Paperback / softback

Description

DI Clare Mackay is about to face a test of her loyalty...When a report comes in that a van containing two prison officers and a convicted jewel thief is missing, the police in St Andrews work quickly to locate the vehicle.

Their efforts prove in vain when no trace is found and they realise the wives of both officers also appear to have left the area.

Is this a case of corrupt guards springing a felon, or innocent people caught in the crossfire?DI Clare Mackay leads the team but has to do without her right hand man; DS Chris West is a cousin to one of the missing prison officers and must not be involved in the case.

With a new sergeant at her side plus a previously unencountered DCI, Clare's people skills are pushed to the limit.

Especially once she realises her boss is keeping her on the sidelines.

Just what is it that Clare doesn't know? And if she has to choose between keeping secrets from a friend, or letting slip something that could see a culprit go free, which path will she take?A compelling addition to the bestselling series by a much-loved Scottish crime author, perfect for fans of Caro Ramsay, Lin Anderson and Alex Gray. Praise for Old Bones Lie'This is an absolute cracker of a book.

An authentic, twisty and compelling detective novel written by a new star of Tartan Noir.' Neil Lancaster, author of The Blood Tide'Old Bones Lie is a fine example of the police procedural.

Tightly plotted, cogently told with an ensemble of characters following the clues and navigating various twists like the professionals they are to reach a solution that is neither pat nor unbelievable.

A hugely enjoyable read indeed.' Douglas Skelton, author of An Honourable Thief'A combination of razor-sharp plotting, wholly believable characters and rock-solid writing - another excellent instalment to the DI Clare Mackay series.' Alison Belsham, author of Death in Kabul'Old Bones Lie is Marion Todd at her very best - forensically intriguing and a bloody good read... literally.' Jonathan Whitelaw, author of The Bingo Hall Detectives'It's impossible to escape Marion's grip on you in this captivating, compelling hunt for lost souls, buried truth and a heartless killer.' Morgan Cry, author of Six Wounds'Brilliant storytelling, tense and riveting with the reassuring presence of the wonderful DI Clare Mackay, I loved Old Bones Lie!' G.R.

Halliday, author of Dark Waters'Marion Todd has excelled herself this time! 5 stars.' Andrew James Greig, author of Whirligig'Gripping and complex.

This is Marion Todd's best yet. Her writing deepens and matures with each new book.' Allan Martin, author of the Inspector Angus Blue novels'Another brilliant instalment to the DI Clare Mackay series.

I couldn't stop reading. Plenty of twists and turns along the way, and just when you think you have it figured - you don't!' Reader review'Marion Todd is one of my favourite authors and this book in the DI Mackay series doesn't disappoint with twists and turns from start to finish.

Great read, couldn't put it down.' Reader review'The story starts with a bang and carries the reader with both great writing and a very good story.

For me, Marion Todd is now sitting comfortably alongside Caro Ramsay as the two best crime writers in Scotland today.' Reader review'Old Bones Lie starts at a really fast pace and remains unrelenting as the story unfolds...The depth of research is plain to see, but the skill is in the storytelling, and I honestly believe that this is her best yet... ' Reader review

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Marion Todd  |  View all

Also in the Detective Clare Mackay series  |  View all