Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Babes in the Wood : The Witches of Woodville 2, Paperback / softback Book

Babes in the Wood : The Witches of Woodville 2 Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

The Witches of Woodville Part 2 July, 1940 Fleeing the Nazi blitzkrieg, a trio of Kindertransport children come to stay with Lady Aston at Hayward Lodge in Woodville.

Their arrival triggers a murder mystery involving a magic apple tree, modern art, a U-boat, and a demonic hound.

Faye Bright must play nanny to the terrified children while gathering clues to uncover the dark magic that threatens to change the course of the war. For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes the second novel in this delightful trilogy of war, mystery and a little bit of magic . . . Praise for The Crow Folk 'Swept me straight back to days of losing myself in Diana Wynne Jones novels, and getting lost in truly absorbing, sometimes scary, sometimes emotive adventure with its roots in folklore and history.

A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age'-Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window 'Stay has brewed a cracking blend of charm and creepiness in The Crow Folk.

A rip-roaring tale of bravery and witchcraft on the wartime home front, expertly told with lashings of wit and warmth'-Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World 'A delightful mash-up of Dad's Army and Charmed.

An absolute treat'-CK McDonnell, author of Stranger Times 'Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun.

With Mark Stay as writer you're always guaranteed a magical read'-Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries 'You'll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel Gummidge'-Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village 'A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing.

Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero.

Dad's Army meets Witches of Eastwick'-Ian W Sainsbury

Information

£8.99

£7.79

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by MARK STAY   |  View all