This Rough Magic, Paperback Book

Description

The pioneer of romantic suspense Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey to a Mediterranean island paradise in this tale of mystery, murder and intrigue, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 'Suspense and romance expertly mingled' Observer'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' IndependentLucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby.

But Lucy's hopes for rest and romance are shattered when a body washes up on the beach and she finds herself swept up in a chilling chain of events.

I shuddered, and drank my coffee, leaning back in my chair to gaze out across pine tops furry with gold towards the sparkling sea, and surrendering myself to the dreamlike feeling that marks the start of a holiday . . .A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven.

I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction.

She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: ELT graded readers
  • ISBN: 9781444720501

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.85

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Mary Stewart   |  View all