Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Camel Bookmobile, Paperback / softback Book

The Camel Bookmobile Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

A superb novel of a travelling library, the Kenyan landscape - and the threat to a fragile way of life. Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall SmithDeep in the heart of the dusty Kenyan desert a train of heavily laden camels wind their way slowly through the bush.

The camels are not carrying grain or medical supplies, but books of every imaginable variety.

Into the remote nomadic settlement of Mididima comes an unexpected wealth of literature - tips for surviving an avalanche, the adventures of Tom Sawyer, vegetarian cookbooks - and all are eagerly devoured under the blazing Kenyan sunshine. Volunteer Fi Sweeney, her heart filled with passion and possibilities, is surprised to discover that the project divides friends and neighbours.

To Kanika, who reads every book she can lay her hands on, the Camel Bookmobile brings hope.

But to some it represents the inevitable destruction of a fragile way of life ...

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

£9.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Masha Hamilton  |  View all