logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

One Half from the East, Paperback / softback Book

Description

A middle grade novel exploring the custom of bacha posh in Afghanistan. Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi's first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh-a preteen girl dressed as a boy. Obayda's family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck-dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes.

Their transformation won't last forever, though-unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure. Nadia Hashimi's first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 288 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Fiction & true stories
  • ISBN: 9780062421913

Other Formats

£5.99

£5.15

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops