Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Sweetness of Water : 'Better than any debut novel has a right to be' Richard Russo, Hardback Book

The Sweetness of Water : 'Better than any debut novel has a right to be' Richard Russo Hardback

Hardback

Description

What price do we pay for freedom?'Better than any debut novel has a right to be' Richard RussoFor readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END. In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names.

Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they're soon discovered by the land's owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war. When the brothers begin to live and work on George's farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers.

But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away. Conjuring a world fraught by tragedy and violence yet threaded through with hope, THE SWEETNESS OF WATER is a debut novel unique in its power to move and enthral.

Information

£18.99

£15.49

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Nathan Harris

£57.00

£49.29

£75.00

£67.50