The Strings of Murder : Frey & McGray Book 1, Paperback / softback Book

The Strings of Murder : Frey & McGray Book 1 Paperback / softback

Part of the A Victorian Mystery series

Description

'A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery' New York Times'I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic' Ian RankinA spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek.

The First Case for Frey & McGray. Edinburgh, 1888. A violinist is murdered in his home. The dead virtuoso's maid swears she heard three musicians playing in the night.

But with only one body in the locked practice room - and no way in or out - the case makes no sense.

Fearing a national panic over another Ripper, Scotland Yard sends Inspector Ian Frey to investigate under the cover of a fake department specializing in the occult.

However, Frey's new boss, Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray, actually believes in such supernatural nonsense.

McGray's tragic past has driven him to superstition, but even Frey must admit that this case seems beyond reason. And once someone loses all reason, who knows what they will lose next... * * *'It's official: I am addicted to Frey and McGray' Christopher Fowler, author of the Bryant and May series'This is wonderful.

A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it.

Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch.' Manda Scott'A great cop double-act ...

It's the pairing of the upright Frey and the unorthodox McGray that notches up the stars for this book.

Like de Muriel, they're going places.'Sunday Sport'One of the best debuts so far this year - a brilliant mix of horror, history, and humour.

Genuinely riveting ... with plenty of twists, this will keep you turning the pages.

It's clever, occasionally frightening and superbly written - The Strings Of Murder is everything you need in a mystery thriller.'Crime Review

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical mysteries
  • ISBN: 9780718179823

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.69

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Oscar de Muriel   |  View all

Also in the A Victorian Mystery series   |  View all