The Waxman Murders (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 15) : Murder, espionage and treason in medieval England, Paperback Book

The Waxman Murders (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 15) : Murder, espionage and treason in medieval England Paperback

3 out of 5 (1 rating)


In 1300, an English privateer named 'The Waxman' was trapped and overrun by two powerful war cogs flying the streamers of the powerful Hanseatic League of North Germany.

The ship was carrying a casket containing the 'Carta Mysteriosa', a collection of valuable and detailed maps and sea charts.

The rulers of Europe, not to mention their merchant princes, would wade through a sea of blood to obtain them.Three years later Wilhelm Von Paulents, a representative of the Hanseatic League, comes to England.

Rumours have it that he owns the sea charts and Sir Hugh Corbett is sent to negotiate with Von Paulents.

But the German visitors fall ill of some mysterious ailment and then, on the morning of the fourth Sunday in Advent, Corbett is summoned to a scene of bloody mayhem and murder: Von Paulents, his wife, son and clerk have been barbarously assassinated.

The 'Carta Mysteriosa' have not been stolen. So why were the murders committed and by whom? Corbett investigates and, once again, he enters the world of shadows to confront the Seed of Cain.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical mysteries
  • ISBN: 9780755328840

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

I'm still reading the medieval mystery series starring Hugh Corbett, although I'm almost up to date, woohoo!!! This is the 15th in the series and was another great medieval 'whodunnit', published in 2007.This time the historical fiction was set in 1300 - 1303 and the plot involved the legend of a buried treasure, pirates as well as numerous murders and assassinations. The regular characters were all in attendance; Sir Hugh Corbett, Ranulf and Chanson, and as usual the plot kept me guessing until close to the end. In my opinion this novel had a well stocked plot filled with much detail and interest in comparison so some of his earlier work in this series.I enjoyed it and am looking forward to the next publication in the series 'Nightshade', published in 2008.