Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

No Peace For The Wicked : The East-End is brought to life in this heart-warming Cockney saga, Paperback / softback Book

No Peace For The Wicked : The East-End is brought to life in this heart-warming Cockney saga Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell, a feel-good, uplifting and funny saga set in post war London from Sunday Times bestseller Pip Granger. "A colourful, deeply nostalgic evocation of Soho in the Fifties, drawing heavily on the author's own childhood." -- CHOICE"She brings the East End to life" -- BARBARA WINDSOR"Lovely book - enjoyed it immensely.

Very funny and very accurate of London in the 1950s." -- ***** Reader review"A brilliant, amusing, unputdownable book." -- ***** Reader review**********************************************THE WAR MAY BE LONG OVER BUT LIFE IN SOHO IS ANYTHING BUT CALM... 1956: Lizzy is working in Soho when Peace, the daughter of her employer Bandy Bunion's estranged sister, comes to stay.

Peace is a beautiful sixteen-year-old part-Chinese girl who has run away from boarding school and who has no intention of going back.

Having lost her own daughter - Rosie's best friend - to leukaemia two years previously, she feels a special bond with Peace.

She also feels that life has been rather quiet recently; but things are about to change dramatically...

When Peace goes missing a second time, and no one knows where she's gone, it looks as though there's only one thing to do.

Lizzy asks TC - her new man and a policeman - to help her find Peace, and the first place they must visit is the dock area in Limehouse... No Peace for the Wicked paints a picture of 1950s Soho so authentic you feel as though you are there...

Information

  • Format:Paperback / softback
  • Pages:512 pages
  • Publisher:Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category:
  • ISBN:9780552150675

Other Formats

£5.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Pip Granger   |  View all