Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Widow Ginger : A heart-warming and upliftingly funny saga from the East End, Paperback / softback Book

The Widow Ginger : A heart-warming and upliftingly funny saga from the East End Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell, a feel-good, colourful and comic saga set in post war London from Sunday Times bestseller Pip Granger. "Packed with sharp authentic detail, this tale told through a child's eyes brings to life a colourful world of great characters from a bygone age." -- HOME & COUNTRY"Loved this book.

Could not put it down, read it in two sittings..." -- ***** Reader review"I enjoyed every minute of it and was sad when I finished it..." -- ***** Reader review***********************************ALL WAS CALM AND NORMAL...UNTIL A STRANGER CAME INTO TOWN... 1954, Soho, London. Rosie, and her beloved Auntie Maggie are opening up their cafe in Old Compton Street for Uncle Bert's breakfast special when the Widow Ginger comes to call. The Widow Ginger, an ex-GI with ice-cold blue eyes, is especially scary.

He has unfinished business with Uncle Bert- business that includes being cheated on his share of a 'liberated' lorry-load of guns and explosives during the War - and he intends to make sure he now gets paid in full. And this isn't all: the lovely Luigi appears to be suffering from a severe case of unrequited lust; Bert and the local Mafioso Maltese Joe have had an acrimonious falling-out; and, most worrying of all, Rosie's best friend Jenny has begun to keel over mysteriously in the school playground.... The Widow Ginger continues Rosie's story (started in Not All Tarts Are Apples) and paints a picture of 1950s Soho so authentic you feel as though you are there...

Information

Other Formats

£12.99

£10.55

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops