This Time of Dying, Paperback / softback Book

This Time of Dying Paperback / softback

Description

This work is suitable for readers of "Sebastian Faulks", Helen Dunmore's "Zennor in Darkness" and "The Siege", Rose Tremain's "The Way I Found Her", and Pat Barker's "Regeneration" trilogy.

It is October 1918 and London is gathering in its dead.

For Henry Speake, of Speake & Son Undertakers, laying to rest the shattered young bodies of those sent home from the Front to die has become a grimly familiar duty.

But what he is seeing now, as influenza claims its victims with increasing speed and force, is something different; for the first time in his life, Henry feels afraid of death.

Unable to share his fears with his waspish, disapproving sisters, Henry turns instead to Mrs Allen Thompson, a recently widowed school teacher, so beginning a friendship which gradually, stumblingly, pulls them in a direction neither has been prepared for.

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Granta Books
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Romance
  • ISBN: 9781846270468

Other Formats

£7.99

£7.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Reina James   |  View all

£2.50

£1.75

£2.50

£1.75

£2.50

£1.75