Royal Assassin, Paperback Book
5 out of 5 (1 rating)


`Fantasy as it ought to be written' George R.R. Martin The second volume in Robin Hobb's internationally bestselling Farseer Trilogy. Honesty is the bedrock for any relationship.

But how can Fitz - royal bastard, trainee assassin, holder of secrets crucial to the security of the kingdom - bare his soul to his beloved Molly? Danger lies all around him - from the raiders savaging the coastal towns, and from within the court.

The king has been struck down by a mystery illness and his eldest son, Verity, is bound up in the defence of the realm. When Verity leaves the court in search of the mythical Elderlings, Fitz finds himself friendless apart from his wolf, Nighteyes, and the king's strange, motley-clad fool, exposed to Prince Regal's malign ambitions.

He will be asked to sacrifice everything - his heart, his hope, even his life - for the sake of the realm.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 656 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Fantasy
  • ISBN: 9780007562268

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Traditional fantasy. The kind that’s gone mainstream after the TV success of Game of Thrones: castles, magic and fighting with sharp edged weapons. Beautifully written traditional fantasy, with some of the warmest characterisation ever. The second book in a trilogy, Royal Assassin sees Fitz growing into adulthood via his ambiguous position at court, dealing with a complex hierarchical web of relationships, tangling with poisonous(!) politics and an existential threat from sea borne raiders,whose impact make Viking pillaging look restrained. This is no middle book holding operation It’s a totally engaging, event filled delight, so good, I was rationing out the (close to 650) pages because I just didn’t want to reach the end. In short, if you haven’t read Robin Hobb yet, just do. I can’t believe I only came across her work last year.

Also in the The Farseer Trilogy series   |  View all