Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Blood Red City, Paperback / softback Book

Blood Red City Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Video footage of an apparent murder on a London train thrusts crusading journalist Lydia into a terrifying web of money, politics and power, in sophisticated, shockingly believable contemporary thriller**LONGLISTED for the CWA Steel Dagger**'Brutal, brilliant and razor sharp.

Blood Red City is pure adrenaline rush from the first page to the last' Chris Whitaker'Pacy and subtle' The Sun'A searing, white-hot journey through the dark underbelly of modern London ...

Blood Red City confirms Rod Reynolds status as one of the greatest crime talents of his generation' Tim Baker________________A witness but no victim.

A crime but no crime scene... When crusading journalist Lydia Wright is sent a video of an apparent murder on a London train, she thinks she's found the story to revive her career.

But she can't find a victim, much less the killers, and the only witness has disappeared.

Wary she's fallen for fake news, she begins to doubt her instincts - until a sinister call suggests that she's not the only one interested in the crime. Michael Stringer deals in information - and doesn't care which side of the law he finds himself on.

But the murder on the train has left him exposed, and now he'll stop at nothing to discover what Lydia knows. When their paths collide, Lydia finds the story leads through a nightmare world, where money, power and politics intersect ... and information is the only thing more dangerous than a bullet. A nerve-shattering and brutally realistic thriller, Blood Red City bursts with energy and grit from the opening page, twisting and feinting to a superb, unexpected ending that will leave you breathless. For fans of Mick Herron, Tim Baker, Tony Kent, James Patterson, Adam Hamdy and Tom Rob Smith. ________________'Hold on to your breath as this bang up-to-date riveting thriller dives head first into a murky sinister world and doesn't come up for air ...

The tension rises with each chapter and while an electrifying ride, there is a sharp thoughtful edge that penetrates the pages' LoveReading'Reynolds is a great scene setter and he is as good at action as he is at the development of character' Literary Review'Reynolds arrived with the casual acumen of an old hand at the crime narrative' Financial Times'Subtle, original, compelling' Sunday Express'An outstanding page-turner that ratchets up the tension as it builds via a labyrinthine plot towards a satisfying and well-crafted climax ... relevant and at times alarming, Blood Red City slaloms its way through the world of social media, geopolitics and hi-tech innovation with compelling conviction' G.J.

Minett'You are in for a treat with this whip-smart contemporary thriller.

Strikingly realistic with an exciting, serpentine plot, I couldn't put it down!' Hair Past a Freckle'This book blew me away, with action on every page.

This will definitely appeal to fans of the BBC's The Capture.

Terrific stuff!' Hooked from Page One'Wow! If you love a tense, tight thriller that must IMMEDIATELY be made into a film, look no further! ... A stunner!' Phillipa's Quick Book Review'A well-researched, complex and fully realised story with three-dimensional lead characters.

The creeping tension and mistrust is palpable and there's an absolutely cracking end reveal' Shots Magazine

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.79

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Rod Reynolds  |  View all