Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Light in Their Consciences : Early Quakers in Britain, 1646–1666, Paperback / softback Book

The Light in Their Consciences : Early Quakers in Britain, 1646–1666 Paperback / softback

Part of the The New History of Quakerism series

Paperback / softback


Hailed upon its publication as “history at its finest” by H.

Larry Ingle and called “the essential foundation to explore early Quaker history” by Sixteenth Century Journal, Rosemary Moore’s The Light in Their Consciences is the most comprehensive, readable history of the first decades of the life and thought of The Society of Friends.

This twentieth anniversary edition of Moore’s pathbreaking work reintroduces the book to a new generation of readers. Drawing on an innovative computer-based analysis of primary sources and Quaker and anti-Quaker literature, Moore provides compelling portraits of George Fox, James Nayler, Margaret Fell, and other leading figures; relates how the early Friends lived and worshipped; and traces the path this radical group followed as it began its development into a denomination.

In doing so, she makes clear the origins and evolution of Quaker faith, details how they overcame differences in doctrinal interpretation and religious practice, and delves deeply into clashes between and among leaders and lay practitioners.

Thoroughly researched, felicitously written, and featuring a new introduction, updated sources, and an enlightening outline of Moore’s research methodology, this edition of The Light in Their Consciences belongs in the collection of everyone interested in or studying Quaker history and the era in which the movement originated.


Other Formats

Save 4%



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also in the The New History of Quakerism series  |  View all