logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

The Girls from the Local, Paperback / softback Book

The Girls from the Local Paperback / softback

Description

Gosport, Hampshre, 1943, and even in the middle of war the local pub provides a warm welcome, thanks to its trio of barmaids.

A heartwarming saga for fans of Sheila Newberry and Daisy Styles. Ruby has been living and working at the Point of No Return pub since her parents were killed by a bomb.

She loves the bustle of the pub; it helps take her mind off worrying about her fiance, Joe, away fighting in France. The only thing Ruby doesn't like about the Point is Sylvie.

This singing siren may have a beautiful voice, but she's out for all she can get, including Joe. Finally, there's Marge, a true party girl. She's a great friend to Ruby and makes sure they have fun, going out to dances and flirting with all and sundry, but she's not as fond of her other role as a mother to two young children. The three of them face many obstacles to fulfilling their dreams, but the bonds of friendship and camaraderie that hold the Point together will keep them going through the darkest of times.

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical romance
  • ISBN: 9781786483553

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.89

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Rosie Archer   |  View all