Vintage Book Of Indian Writing 1947 - 1997, Paperback Book

Vintage Book Of Indian Writing 1947 - 1997 Paperback


The Indian subcontinent has produced some of the world's greatest writers, and a body of literature unsurpassed in its sustained imagination, impassioned lyricism and sparkling tragi-comedy.

Now Salman Rushdie and Elizabeth West have collected together the finest Indian writing of the last fifty years.

Published to coincide with the anniversary of India's independence, it is an anthology of extraordinary range and vigour, as exciting and varied as the land that inspired it.

Including works by: Mulk Raj Anand. Gita Mehta. Anjana Appachana. Ved Mehta. Vikram Chandra. Rohinton Mistry. Upamanyu Chatterjee. R. K. Narayan. Amit Chaudhuri. Jawaharlal Nehru. Nirad C. Chaudhuri. Padma Perera. Anita Desai. Satyajit Ray. Kiran Desai. Arundhati Roy. G. V. Desani. Salman Rushdie. Amitav Ghosh. Nayantara Sahgal. Githa Hariharan. I. Allan Sealy. Ruth Prawer Jhabvala. Vikram Seth. Firdaus Kanga. Bapsi Sidhwa. Mukul Kesavan. Sara Suleri. Saadat Hasan Manto. Shashi Tharoor. Kamala Markandaya . Ardashir Vakil.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 608 pages
  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Literary essays
  • ISBN: 9780099731016



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops