logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

The Last Concerto, Paperback / softback Book

The Last Concerto Paperback / softback

Description

The perfect summer read for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Dinah Jeffries Famed for its natural beauty and rich history, Sardinia in 1968 is notorious, too, for the bandits who kidnap wealthy landowners for ransom.

Eleven-year-old Alba Fresu's brother, and her father, Bruno, are abducted by criminals who mistake Bruno for a rich man.

After a grueling journey through the countryside, the two are eventually released - but the experience leaves Alba shaken and unable to readjust to normal life, or to give voice to her inner turmoil. Accompanying her mother to cleaning jobs, Alba visits the villa of an eccentric Signora and touches the keys of a piano for the first time.

The instrument's spell is immediate. During secret lessons, forbidden by her mother, Alba is at last able to express emotions too powerful for words alone.

Ignoring her parents' insistence that she work in the family's car dealership and marry a local boy, Alba accepts a scholarship to the Rome conservatoire.

There she immerses herself in a vibrant world of art and a passionate affair. But her path will lead her to a crossroads, and Alba will have to decide how to reconcile her talent with her longing for love and family, and convey the music of her heart ... Praise for Sara Alexander: `Will leave readers riveted until the explosive conclusion'Publishers Weekly `This enchanting novel is a delightful read, perfectly suited for a warm beach with a cold beverage.

Readers who enjoy Adriana Trigiani's historical Italian family sagas will adore Alexander's debut.'Booklist

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical romance
  • ISBN: 9780008273712

Other Formats

£7.99

£7.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops