logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Women of the Dunes, Hardback Book

Description

The new novel from the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides, winner of the Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2018!'Sarah Maine is a master of Scottish historical fiction' Sunday Post****On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago.

The legend will bring the stories of three different women together... In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a foreign country after her lover is brutally killed.

Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house's lascivious son. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery.

When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound. Women of the Dunes is the new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine.

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft. Praise for Sarah Maine:'An echo of Daphne du Maurier' - Independent'Maine adroitly weaves together the three strands of her novel' Sunday Times'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' - The Times'Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...' - Kirkus

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9781473684898

Other Formats

£20.99

£16.39

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops