Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

My Name is Eva : An absolutely gripping and emotional historical novel, Paperback / softback Book

My Name is Eva : An absolutely gripping and emotional historical novel Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

You can pay a terrible price for keeping a promise... Evelyn Taylor-Clarke sits in her chair at Forest Lawns Care Home in the heart of the English countryside, surrounded by residents with minds not as sharp as hers.

It would be easy to dismiss Evelyn as a muddled old woman, but her lipstick is applied perfectly, and her buttons done up correctly. Because Evelyn is a woman with secrets and Evelyn remembers everything.

She can never forget the promise she made to the love of her life, to discover the truth about the mission that led to his death, no matter what it cost her... When Evelyn's niece Pat opens an old biscuit tin to find a photo of a small girl with a red ball entitled 'Liese, 1951' and a passport in another name, she has some questions for her aunt. And Evelyn is transported back to a place in Germany known as 'The Forbidden Village', where a woman who called herself Eva went where no one else dared, amongst shivering prisoners, to find the man who gambled with her husband's life... A gripping, haunting and compelling read about love, courage and betrayal set in the war-battered landscape of Germany.

Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Cilka's Journey and The Child of Auschwitz will be hooked. Readers are raving about My Name is Eva:'Could not put this book down, and heaven help anyone that tried to disturb my reading !!...I absolutely loved this book !...I laughed, I cried, I cheered , I sympathised all because of Evelyn...I could so picture the setting and as Evelyn sets out to fool everyone, I thought you go girl !!...I don't want to say anything else but what a fantastic read...

I can't recommend this book enough!!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars'What a magnificent read!

Eva is amazing. One of the best characters in a book EVER! What a fantastic, beautiful, heart-wrenching tale, incredibly told.

I absolutely loved every single page. I sat for the last 20% of the book in tears, sad but happy tears.

An absolutely beautiful book' Kim the Bookworm, 5 stars'A poignant and evocative story of love, betrayal and bravery that kept me page turning and completely engrossed from start to finish.

Loved it and would definitely recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars'A phenomenal story of courage, love, murder and all the atrocities that go with war.

Eva is an extraordinary character, strong, loyal, smart, funny, loving, and brave.A phenomenal read!!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars'This may be my new favorite book!!!!

I absolutely love the premise of the heroine faking dementia in her retirement home to cover up her knowledge of (and possible involvement in) questionable activities centering around WWII events.

The tempo of this novel was perfect--kept me wondering until the very last page!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars'Absolutely loved this book and its riveting plot!...

The author has successfully penned a debut novel that I would highly recommend without any hesitation.

An excellent debut novel from Suzanne Goldring and I look forward to reading more of her work .' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Information

£8.99

£8.15

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops