Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Lives of the Caesars, Paperback / softback Book

Lives of the Caesars Paperback / softback

Edited by Catharine Edward

Part of the Oxford World's Classics series


The Lives of the Caesars include the biographies of Julius Caesar and the eleven subsequent emperors: Augustus, Tiberius, Gaius Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Galba, Otho, Vitelius, Vespasian, Titus, Domitian.

Suetonius composed his material from a variety of sources, without much concern for their reliability.

His biographies consist the ancestry and career of each emperor in turn; however, his interest is not so much analytical or historical, but anecdotal andsalacious which gives rise to a lively and provocative succession of portraits.

The account of Julius Caesar does not simply mention his crossing of the Rubicon and his assassination, but draws attention to his dark piercing eyes and attempts to conceal his baldness.

The Live of Caligula presents a vividpicture of the emperor's grotesque appearance, his waywardness, and his insane cruelties.

The format and style of Suetonius' Lives of the Caesars was to set the tone for biography throughout western literature - his work remains thoroughly readable and full of interest.

ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe.

Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Suetonius   |  View all

Also in the Oxford World's Classics series   |  View all