Ariel, Hardback Book
4 out of 5 (1 rating)


The poems in Sylvia Plath's Ariel, including many of her best-known such as 'Lady Lazarus', 'Daddy', 'Edge' and 'Paralytic', were all written between the publication in 1960 of Plath's first book, The Colossus, and her death in 1963. 'If the poems are despairing, vengeful and destructive, they are at the same time tender, open to things, and also unusually clever, sardonic, hardminded . . . They are works of great artistic purity and, despite all the nihilism, great generosity . . . the book is a major literary event.' A. Alvarez in the Observer This beautifully designed edition forms part of a series with five other cherished poets, including Wendy Cope, Don Paterson, Philip Larkin, Simon Armitage and Alice Oswald.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 96 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Poetry by individual poets
  • ISBN: 9780571259311

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Plath's poetry is intense in its emotion. Her words are chosen with obvious care - sparse, yet powerful. From the bleak despair of <i>Sheep in the Fog</i> (<i>"A flower left out./ My bones hold a stillness, the far/ Fields melt my heart.")</i> and the grim <i>Lady Lazarus</i> (<i>"Dying/ Is an art, like everything else./ I do it exceptionally well."</i>) to the intense anger of <i>Daddy</i>. I'm not sure about the beekeeping poems, but the collection ends on the powerful <i>Edge</i> a poem infatuated with death, and <i>Words</i> (<i>"Axes/ After whose stroke the wood rings,/ And the echoes!"</i>)

Also by Sylvia Plath   |  View all