Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Tropic of Eternity, Paperback / softback Book

The Tropic of Eternity Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

'Marvellous . . . a space opera of surpassing gracefulness, depth, complexity, and well, all-round weirdness' LocusPerfect for fans of Iain M.

Banks and Peter F. Hamilton. It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end. In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive.

In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come.

The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side.

In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese.

The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun. Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself.

Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell.

Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt. And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . . '(An) unceasing display of wonders...This third novel honours the accomplishments of and promises of the first two, and serves as a fitting capstone to a unique creation...' Paul Di Filippo, Locus Magazine'The final book in Toner's ridiculously ambitious trilogy will force you to redefine what space opera can do... ' Barnes & Noble'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years.

Granted, you've got to give it your all, but give it that and you'll get all that and more besides back' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

Information

Other Formats

£18.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops