Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Variety Girls : The start of a wonderful historical saga series from Tracy Baines for 2022, Paperback / softback Book

The Variety Girls : The start of a wonderful historical saga series from Tracy Baines for 2022 Paperback / softback

Part of the The Variety Girls series

Paperback / softback

Description

A brand new series full of friendship, singing and laughter as war looms...Cleethorpes 1939 With the country teetering on the brink of war everyone faces an uncertain future. Destitute after the tragic death of her father, aspiring singer Jessie Delaney and her family have no choice other than to accept the charity of relatives to ensure a roof over their heads. Spiteful Aunt Iris soon has Jessie dreaming of a life filled with colour and excitement that she knows the theatre can offer.

How can Jessie escape the drudgery, support her family and pursue her dreams?

Through her father's connections Jessie finds work as a Variety Girl in a new show at the Empire in Cleethorpes, a small seaside theatre on the east coast.

But taking the job means flying solo and leaving her family and her sweetheart, Harry behind. Friendships are forged but will the glamour of show business lose its shine without those she loves close by?A gritty and heart-warming saga perfect for readers of Elaine Everest, Nancy Revell and Pam Howes. Praise for Tracy Baines:'A charming, heart-warming saga about ambition, hard work and courage in the cut and thrust of a world often driven by jealousy and spite'.

Rosie Clarke'Immerse yourself in the exciting, evocative world of Wartime musical theatre.

I highly recommend this book.' Fenella Miller'An emotional, entertaining read that had me gripped!' Sheila Riley'An absorbing and poignant saga.

I loved it from the very beginning and would highly recommend it...' Elaine Roberts'Terrific - beautifully written.

The book twinkles. A well-crafted and satisfying story' Maisie Thomas'A pleasure from start to finish.' Glenda Young'...you will have to read this well-researched song and dance of a novel in great gulps as I did' Annie Clark'I just loved this book!

Molly WaltonThe Variety Girls is terrific - beautifully written & with an unusual background.

The stage costumes twinkle with sequins and the book twinkles with tiny details of theatre life that add depth and atmosphere to this well-crafted and satisfying story.

Maisie Thomas, The Railway Girls'A pleasure from start to finish.' Glenda Young, Belle of the Backstreets'...you will have to read this well-researched song and dance of a novel in great gulps as I did' Margaret Graham/Annie Clark/Milly Adams'an evocative, busy, entertaining read, which has well balanced touches of humour, vying with angst, and of course, more than a dollop of tension.' Margaret Graham, Frost Magazine'I just loved this book!

The characters were so well-drawn, they felt like old friends to me.

Their relationships were beautifully written, heartwarming and authentic.

A fascinating insight into the theatre life of the time and all its wonderful personalities.

The setting of Cleethorpes was delightful and shone a light on this town that deserves more recognition.

Tracy Baines is a very welcome addition to the saga genre, which she has enriched with this lovely story.' Molly Walton author of A Mother's War'Characterisation is one of the book's strong points - the individual characters stay in your mind long after you finish the story.' Barbara Dynes, The Voice

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information