Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Confessin' the Blues, Vinyl / 12" Album Vinyl

Confessin' the Blues Vinyl / 12" Album

by Various Artists

Vinyl / 12" Album


10% of BMG's net receipts* from the sale of this album (with a minimum of £0.65 (2CD) / £1.25 (2LP) / £3.00 (Bookpack) UK pounds sterling) will be donated to Willie Dixon's Blues Heaven Foundation (Registered as a 501(c) (3) non-profit organisation in the United States). *The charitable donation is calculated on net receipts being amounts equal to monies actually received by BMG from the sale of this album after deductions of credits for returns and VAT (or similar sales tax). Jacqueline Dixon, President/CEO of The Blues Heaven Foundation, said: 'We are extremely honoured, grateful and humbled that Willie Dixon's Blues Heaven Foundation has been included in such an astonishing project. It means so much that my father's dream of creating an organisation that promotes, protects and preserves the Blues for future generations is being recognised and supported by artists that have achieved so much.' BMG and Universal present 'Confessin' The Blues'. Original Blues masterpieces hand-picked and curated in collaboration with The Rolling Stones with cover artwork by Ronnie Wood. As well as being the biggest band in the world, The Rolling Stones are also the biggest champions of the blues, so who better to curate a compilation in collaboration with BMG and Universal, of the music that inspired them throughout their career? Confessin' The Blues collects together the greatest bluesmen ever and provides a perfect education to the genre. The tracklisting on the various formats has been chosen by The Rolling Stones, in collaboration with BMG and Universal and will be released on BMG on 9 November. The Rolling Stones have long been supporters of the Blues from before the start of their career right through to their latest album, Blue & Lonesome which featured their interpretations of the classics, many of which appear in their original versions here on Confessin' The Blues. Mick Jagger was an early fan of the Blues: 'The first Muddy Waters album that was really popular was Muddy Waters at Newport, which was the first album I ever bought'. Keith Richards said, 'If you don't know the blues... there's no point in picking up the guitar and playing rock and roll or any other form of popular music.' Confessin' The Blues includes tracks by the biggest Blues pioneers including Howlin' Wolf, John Lee Hooker, Elmore James, Muddy Waters, Chuck Berry, Big Bill Broonzy and Robert Johnson. All of these artists had an impact on the nascent Rolling Stones, be they influencing Keith's guitar licks or Mick's vocals and lyrics. As Ronnie Wood says: 'That's how Mick and Keith first got close as well, on the train coming back from college. They noticed each other's record collection and it was, 'Hey, you've got Muddy Waters. You must be a good guy, let's form a band'. Confessin' The Blues will be available as a 2CD set, 2x2 Vinyl LP sets and a 5x10' Vinyl bookpack (mimicking the original 78RPM releases). All versions include liner notes by music journalist Colin Larkin and the bookpack contains removeable art card prints by noted blues illustrator Christoph Mueller. The album cover artwork comes courtesy of Stones guitarist Ronnie Wood who has added his own personal twist to the project by painting his interpretation of a Bluesman. Confessin' The Blues is a real musical education from those who know the genre best, the greatest living band on the planet, The Rolling Stones.

Track Listing

Disc 1
  1. Muddy Waters - Rollin' Stone
  2. Howlin' Wolf - Little Red Rooster
  3. Elmore James with Sonny Boy Williamson II - Dust My Broom
  4. Slim Harpo - I'm a King Bee
  5. Bo Diddley - You Can't Judge a Book By Its Cover
  6. Chuck Berry - Little Queenie
  7. John Lee Hooker - Boogie Chillen
  8. Little Walter - I Hate to See You Go
  9. Jimmy Reed - Bright Lights, Big City
  10. Robert Johnson - Love in Vain Blues
  11. Mississippi Fred McDowell - You Gotta Move
Disc 2
  1. Howlin' Wolf - Just Like I Treat You
  2. Eddie Taylor - Ride 'Em On Down
  3. Little Walter - Blue and Lonesome
  4. Lightnin' Slim - Hoodoo Blues
  5. Bo Diddley - Crawdad
  6. Little Walter - Just Your Fool
  7. Magic Sam - All Your Love
  8. Big Maceo - Worried Life Blues
  9. Amos Milburn - Down the Road Apiece
  10. Jay McShann and Walter Brown - Confessin' the Blues



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops