Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Mystery by the Sea : An utterly addictive English cozy mystery, Paperback / softback Book

Mystery by the Sea : An utterly addictive English cozy mystery Paperback / softback

Part of the A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series

Paperback / softback

Description

A magnificent seaside hotel, striped deckchairs, strawberry ice cream... and a rather familiar dead body? Lady Swift is on the case!


Spring, 1921Lady Eleanor Swift, explorer extraordinaire and accidental sleuth, hasn't had a vacation since she arrived in England a year ago. Being an amateur detective can be a rather tiring business and she is determined to escape any more murder and mysteries. So she books into the Grand Hotel in the fashionable resort of Brighton for some fresh air, fish and chips and, of course, a dip in the ocean.


Eleanor is enjoying her view of the waves and trying to find her bathing suit when calamity strikes: a guest has been found dead at her beautiful hotel. The distraught manager, who can't afford a scandal, asks Eleanor to solve the case as swiftly as possible. Thank goodness she has her partner in crime - Gladstone the bulldog - to help her sniff out the dastardly culprit.


But when Eleanor enters the dead man's room, she receives a shock big enough to make her forget even the finest ice cream sundae. The body is that of her husband, who supposedly died six years ago on the other side of the world. Has he been alive all these years? Why does he have a copy of their wedding photograph with a cryptic message written on the back? If Eleanor can keep herself safe long enough to find her husband's killer, she might discover that everything is not quite as it seems beside the seaside...


A warm and witty whodunnit! Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and L.B. Hathaway will be utterly charmed by this addictive and absolutely gripping page-turner.


Readers are totally addicted to Verity Bright!


'Can I give it six stars please?... Pretty much perfect... Bright has the amazing gift of bringing the reader into that world where the characters are alive.' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'I was literally on the edge of my seat until the last page trying to figure out the mystery. It's an adorablecaptivating book.' Washington Life Magazine

Information

£7.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series   |  View all