Supporting your high street Find out how »
To the Lighthouse & The Waves, Paperback / softback Book

To the Lighthouse & The Waves Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback


"To the Lighthouse" - The Ramsey family arrives to their summer house in the Hebrides, on the Isle of Sky in Scotland.

They plan to visit the island's lighthouse one day, but the weather doesn't allow them and that creates some tension between family members.

As the Ramsays have been joined at the house by a number of friends and colleagues, the trip to the lighthouse doesn't happen.

Passing of the time brings death and grief to the Ramsey family, but the tension is still there. "The Waves" consists of soliloquies spoken by six characters: Bernard, Susan, Rhoda, Neville, Jinny, and Louis.

Also important is Percival, the seventh character, though we never hear him speak in his own voice.

The soliloquies that span the characters' lives are broken up by nine brief third-person interludes detailing a coastal scene at varying stages in a day from sunrise to sunset.

As the six characters or "voices" speak Woolf explores concepts of individuality, self and community.

Each character is distinct, yet together they compose a gestalt about a silent central consciousness.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Virginia Woolf   |  View all